The Grundfos Prize for female professor


Professor, Anne Strunge Meyer and Grundfos Chairman, Niels Due Jensen

The Grundfos Prize 2008 was given today to Professor, Anne Strunge Meyer, Dept. of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering at the Technical University of Danmark (DTU).

The prize is a recognition of Ms Strunge Meyer’s research in the development of new products and processes by means of nature’s own enzymes and the use of plant material otherwise unused.

The Grundfos Prize consists of DKK 1m (130,000 Euro), of which DKK 250,000 (33,000 Euro) is a personal token of respect whereas the rest is earmarked for Professor Strunge Meyer’s research field.

Anne Strunge Meyer’s work includes research in the processing of biomass for the design of functional ingredients for food and other bioactive substances.

Through a relatively brief career so far, Anne Strunge Meyer has managed to demonstrate her professional quality and productivity. More than 100 articles in recognised magazines and some 20 chapters in books and conference documents make her one of the world’s 20 most frequently quoted writer in the field of ”Food and Agriculture Science”.

The Prize was presented by Grundfos Group Chairman, Niels Due Jensen, who, among other things, said: ”I hope the Grundfos Prize will strengthen the awareness that, in a small country like Denmark, it is imperative public and private research is performed in close harmony and that everybody contributes with more value and in several ways to our welfare and we alth.”

The jury of the Grundofs Prize consists of:
Vice-Rector Nina Smith, Aarhus University
Professor Preben Terndrup Pedersen, The Technical University of Denmark
Former Rector ofr Aalborg University, Sven Caspersen
Lars Kolind, Chairman of the Poul Due Jensen Foundation
Niels Due Jensen, Chairman of the Grundfos Group.

Former recipients of the Grundfos Prize:
2002: Professor, Dr. techn. Sc. Ole Sigmund, DTU
2003: Professor, Svend Erik Hougaard Jensen, Research Manager, Nikolaj Malchow-Møller, Professor, Jan Rose Skaksen, Professor, Anders Sørensen and Professor Ulrich Kaiser (sharing the prize earned for a de fem delte prisen for a social prize paper)
2004: Professor Frede Blåbjerg, Aalborg University.
2006: DSc. Flemming Besenbacher, Head of the iNANO Centre, Aarhus University.
2007: Professor Jens Kehlet Nørskov, DTU.